14 MLAs including a Cabinet Minister with criminal records, reveal “leaked” documents

Ministers with 'criminal cases'

Guwahati, September 14: A list of 14 Assam legislators including a cabinet minister with “criminal cases” are making rounds in the media houses a day after the Supreme Court has asked all the 25 states and union territories and the high courts to place before it a “full and complete updated information” on the status of cases pending against MPs and MLAs.

The list supposedly “leaked” from the chief secretary’s office reveals that out of the total 126 legislators, 14 — seven from incumbent BJP, five from Congress, one from All India United Democratic front and one independent — have declared criminal cases against them. 10 of those have serious cases against them.

Assam cabinet minister Naba Kumar Doley who holds the portfolio of cultural affairs was found to have a case against him with several sections of IPC levelled against him including three serious charges regarding giving and fabricating fake evidence.

A bench of Justices Ranjan Gogoi and Navin Sinha had noted that 12 special courts have already been set up in 11 states and said the information should be placed before it by October 10, the next date of hearing, so that those cases can be shut at the earliest.

Among the BJP legislators, Kushal Dowari from Thowra constituency of Sivasagar district’s, Ramakanta Deowri of Marigaon constituency, Dipak Kumar Rabha of Dudhnoi constituency in Goalpara district, Narayan Deka of Barkhetry constituency in Nalbari district, Shiladitya Dev of Hojai constituency and Ainul Haque Laskar of Sonai constituency in Cachar district besides Doley.

From Congress, the leader of opposition party Debabrata Saikia from Nazira constituency, Kamalakhya Dey Purkaystha from Karimganj North in Karimganj district, Abul Kalam Rasheed Alam from Goalpara east constituency, Nurul Huda from Rupohihat constituency in Nagaon district, and Jamal Uddin Ahmed from Badarpur constituency in Karimganj district found their name in the list.

Abhayapuri South, legislator Anant Kumar Malo from AIUDF and independent legislator for Jonai, Bhubon Pegu, found their name in the list too.