17 Candidates In Fray For Gauhati Lok Sabha Seat

The main contest is likely to be between BJP's Queen Oja and Congress' Bobbeeta Sharma
The main contest is likely to be between BJP's Queen Oja and Congress' Bobbeeta Sharma

Guwahati, April 20, 2019

The highest number of nominations for the third phase of Lok Sabha elections has been filed for the Gauhati constituency. As many as 17 candidates are in the fray for the Gauhati seat.

A total of 62 candidates had filed nominations for the four Lok Sabha constituencies – Dhubri, Kokrajhar (ST), Barpeta and Gauhati – of Assam which will go to the polls in the third phase on April 23rd, 2019.  A total of 17 candidates, including six independent candidates, are contesting for the Gauhati seat. They are:

  • Sadek Ali: Independent
  • Shankha Sinha: Independent
  • Utpal Buragohain: Independent
  • Alimuddin Ahmed: Independent
  • Rubi Neog: Independent
  • Mamoni Sharma: Purvanchal Janata Party (Secular)
  • Manoj Sharma: TMC
  • Bobbeeta Sharma: INC
  • Queen Oja: BJP
  • Avijit Chakraborty: Bharatiya Gana Parishad
  • Pankaj Das: Swarna Bharat Party
  • Junmoni Devi Khaund: Independent
  • Upamanyu Hazarika: Independent
  • Faruk Ahmed Bhuyan: Independent
  • Rajib Kakati: Hindustan Nirman Dal
  • Partha Pratim Baruah: VPI
  • Ratul Kumar Choudhury: Samajwadi Party

With the highest number of  21,78,617 voters among all the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam, the 7 No Gauhati Lok Sabha seat has 11,00,746 are male, 10,77,793 are female and 78 Third Gender voters. 2,592 polling stations, highest among the 14 parliamentary seats of Assam, will be set up for the polling in Guwahati.

This year, the BJP and Congress have emerged as the key contenders in the constituency. Gauhati is also the only constituency of Assam where both the major parties have fielded woman candidates in the ongoing parliamentary elections.

The Gauhati Lok Sabha seat comprises 10 LAC segments – Dudhnoi, Boko, Chaygaon, Palasbari, Hajo, Jalukbari, Dispur, Gauhati East, Gauhati West and Barkhetri.

The main contest is likely to be between BJP’s Queen Oja and Congress’ Bobbeeta Sharma.  Independent candidates Upamanyu Hazarika and Junmoni Devi Khaund are also expected to give a tough fight to Oja and Sarmah. It may be mentioned, in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, BJP’s Bijoya Chakravarty swept the election by defeating Manash Borah of Congress by over 3.15 lakh votes.

The average final turnout in the five constituencies (Silchar, Karimganj, Mangaldoi, Nagaon and Autonomous District) of Assam, which went to the polls in the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections on April 18th, 2019, stands at over 80 per cent.