2019 Lok Sabha Elections: 21,760,604 Voters To Cast Ballot In Assam

The votes will be counted on May 23rd, 2019,
The votes will be counted on May 23rd, 2019,

Guwahati, March 11, 2019

A total of 21,760,604 voters will exercise their franchise in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Assam.

The Lok Sabha elections in Assam will be held in three phases on April 11th, 18th and 23rd, 2019, the Election Commission announced on March 10th, 2019, setting the stage for a high-stakes battle between the state’s ruling BJP and the Congress.

A total of 706,489 young voters – 40,47,15 males and 301,774 females – in the age group of 18 to 19 years in Assam will exercise their franchise for the first time in the Lok Sabha polls. Out of 21,760,604 voters, 111,327,82 are males and 106,278,22 are females.

756,284, 68,364,96 and 74,078,24 voters in Phase I, Phase II and III respectively will cast their votes in 28,143 polling stations.  A total of 1913 polling stations have been marked as ‘critical’ and 3663 as ‘Highly sensitive’.

The Election Commission has also made it mandatory for candidates to advertise their criminal records at least three times on TV and newspaper while campaigning for elections.

Photo voter slip bearing the photo of the elector will be distributed at least five days before the date of the poll to all the enrolled voters by the District Election Officer.

The votes will be counted on May 23rd, 2019, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora said at a press conference at Vigyan Bhavan in New Delhi on March 10th, 2019.

Allaying fears of those whose names did not figure in the final draft of National Register of Citizens, Assam Chief Electoral Officer Mukesh Sahu said, “Those whose names are included in the electoral rolls can cast their votes in the Lok Sabha elections.”

The term of the present Lok Sabha ends on June 3rd, 2019. In the last general elections, the Congress won just three seats out of the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam while the BJP won seven seats.

All polling stations in Assam like the rest of the country will have Voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) or verifiable paper record (VPR) system during the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The VVPAT slips will be counted along with the votes punched into the EVM from randomly selected polling stations and tally with the counted votes.