4 Meghalaya legislators to resign and join BJP

Shillong, January 1: Four more Meghalaya legislators, reportedly, are about to resign from the assembly on Tuesday. The legislators are Alexander Hek of the Congress, Nationalist Congress Party legislator Sanbor Shullai and two Independents — Justine Dkhar and Robinus Syngkon.

Party sources say they will be joining the BJP ahead of the 2018 state elections.

Five Congress MLAs including former Deputy Chief Minister Rowell Lyngdoh and three independents resigned from the Meghalaya Assembly last week to join BJP ally NPP.

The MLAs will be joining the BJP in a meeting which will be attended by Union Tourism minister KJ Alphons, who is also the party’s Meghalaya election in-charge, Assam minister and North East Democratic Alliance convener Himanta Biswa Sarma, and others.

It will be a homecoming of sorts for Hek, a former BJP-turned Congress legislator. He had contested and won on a BJP ticket in 1998, 2003 and 2008 polls and joined the Congress in July 2009. He contested the 2013 assembly elections on a Congress ticket and retained the Pynthorumkhrah seat. He was the Health and Family Welfare minister in the Mukul Sangma cabinet before being sacked last year.

Former Deputy Speaker Sanbor Shullai was NCP’s Meghalaya President before he too was sacked and Syngkon, was a parliamentary secretary and had withdrawn his support to the Sangma-led Congress government.

PN Syiem, Former Congress legislator, also the chief executive of the KHADC, resigned from the Assembly and joined the PDF recently. The other five former Congress legislators — Rowell Lyngdoh, Prestone Tynsong,  Ngaitlang Dhar, Coming One Ymbon and Sniawbhalang Dhar — along with former UDP legislator Remington Pyngrope and Independents Hopeful Bamon and Stephanson Mukhim, are slated to formally join NPP on Thursday.