4 NE states to get funds for development of border villages

Guwahati, December 27: In a bid to prevent thinning settlements and improving infrastructure, Rs 167 crore has reportedly been released by the Home Ministry to 9 states which share international borders with India’s neighbouring countries.

Assam, Meghalaya, Sikkim and Tripura are receiving funds along with Punjab, Rajasthan, Bihar, Himachal Pradesh and West Bengal under the Border Area Development Programme (BADP).

Assam, Meghalaya and Tripura share international border with Bangladesh while Sikkim shares international border with Nepal and Bhutan.

The BADP, a programme funded by the Centre, covers villages located within 0-10 km of the International Border across 17 states. The villages which are identified by border guarding forces for the speedy development of infrastructure are taken as priority.

BADP schemes include activities relating to cleanliness, skill development programmes, promotion of sports, promotion of rural tourism as well as border tourism and protection of heritage sites.

Construction of helipads in remote and inaccessible hilly areas which do not have road connectivity, skill development training to farmers for the use of the modern and scientific technique in farming, organic farming are other schemes which come under the BADP.