Ajmal’s AIUDF To Field Candidates In 8 Constituencies Of Assam, Keen On Alliance With Congress

Badruddin Ajmal

Guwahati, March 13, 2019

Perfume baron Badruddin Ajmal-led All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) is going to field candidates in eight constituencies in Assam. The party is also keen “from the bottom of heart” to forge an alliance with the Congress.

“We will field candidates in eight constituencies. If we look at the exit poll, it is impossible for Congress to form the government. They will have to forge an alliance. We have been holding talks for a pre-poll alliance,” Ajmal said while speaking to TIME8.

He added, “We are waiting for the Core Working Committee meeting to finalise the candidates. We will wait for the other political parties, especially Congress to release their final list of candidates. Soon after, with proper planning and vision will release our list.”

It may be mentioned that Assam Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will win 10-11 seats out of 14 in Assam as “Hindutva believers” in Dhubri and Barpeta “are fast decreasing”. Sarma further blamed Ajmal for “turning Barpeta and Dhubri” into “Muslim dominated places”.

AGP-BJP Alliance

The BJP and Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) will jointly fight the coming Lok Sabha elections, BJP general secretary Ram Madhav announced on March 12th, 2019. All the three AGP ministers who had tendered resignations will withdraw their resignation papers.

The announcement came after top AGP leadership had an hour-long discussion with BJP’s central leadership. It may be recalled, the AGP which pulled out from the NDA alliance over Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016, has formed a seven-member panel to chalk-out the party strategy and to recommend as to with whom the regional party should go in the coming Lok Sabha polls.

As per sources, BJP is willing to give three Lok Sabha seats to AGP – Dhubri, Barpeta and Kaliabor. It may be mentioned, while Dhubri and Barpeta are strongholds of Ajmal-led AIUDF, Kaliabor is a Congress bastion. Congress’ Gaurav Gogoi is the sitting Kaliabor Lok Sabha MP.