28 C
Sunday, April 11, 2021

    Akhil Gogoi to fight from Sivasagar; Friendly contest with AJP in two seats

    Friendly contest: Allies AJP and Raijor Dal file nomination for Bihpuria and Rangapara constituencies

    Guwahati: Peasant leader and Raijor Dal president Akhil Gogoi who has been in judicial custody for over a year now to fight the state polls from Sivasagar constituency, said Raijor Dal convenor Bhasco D Saikia as the party announced the list of its candidates for the first two phases of elections in poll-bound Assam.

    Earlier, the party members collected the nomination papers for Gogoi.

    Addressing the media on Saturday, Saikia, informed that the announcement of the list of candidates was preceded after approval from Gogoi.

    Raijor Dal will field its candidates in 12 constituency seats out of the 47 in the first phase and 6 seats out of 39 seats in the second phase of assembly elections.

    Here is the first list of candidates for Phase- I assembly elections; the name of the one candidate has been kept on hold.

    1. Chabua- Dipenjyoti Phukan
    2. Moran- Mohini Mohan Ligira
    3. Mahmora- Lohit Gogoi
    4. Sivasagar- Akhil Gogoi
    5. Tiok- Kabindra Chetia Phukan
    6. Bokakhat- Jibon Bora
    7. Rupahihat- Nazrul Islam
    8. Dhing- Mehmub Muktab
    9. Tezpur- Alok Nath
    10. Bihpuria- Anup Saikia
    11. Rangapara- Bijoy Tirki

    Here is the second list of candidates for Phase- II assembly elections

    1. Raha (SC)- Rubul Das
    2. Rangia- Hareswar Barman
    3. Kamalpur- Jitul Deka
    4. Karimganj North- Sahabul Islam Choudhury
    5. Dalgaon- Umar Ali
    6. Jamunamukh- Diluwara Begum Choudhury

    Alike AJP president Lurinjyoti Gogoi, it is speculated that Raijor Dal president Akhil Gogoi might contest from Mariani constituency apart from Sivasagar constituency.

    Raijor Dal earlier in the morning hours claimed that the party will contest in 18 constituencies out of 86 to oust BJP-led alliance government in Assam.

    According to party insiders, both Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) and Raijor Dal will share proportionate numbers of seats in upper, central and northern Assam. But Raijor Dal is reportedly eyeing the minority seats in central and lower Assam.

    It is estimated that indigenous votes sharing might remain the only factor between AJP and Raijor Dal in few constituencies. Bhasco D Saikia, however, claimed that both the parties will sort this issue with discussion.

    Interestingly, both AJP and Raijor Dal will go for a friendly contest in two constituencies namely Bihpuria and Rangapara in the first phase of assembly elections.

    Assam Jatiya Parishad leaders Achyut Saikia and Ajay Tanti will contest from Bihpuria and Rangapara constituencies respectively.

    Read More : Cattle smuggling on rise in Dhubri; 105 caught in recent days


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published


    Jorhat Admin enforces section 144 CrPC amid surge in COVID-19 cases

    Six new people were tested positive to COVID-19 in Jorhat on Monday

    Assam: Writer Sikha Sarma receives rape threat in Facebook

    Rongmon Nath, a student of Gauhati University, made derogatory remarks against Sikha Sarma in a Facebook post.

    Dima Hasao: 5 polling officials suspended after EVM raised 181 votes against 90 voters

    A total of 171 votes were raised in an electronic voting machine (EVM) against 90 voters in Dima Hasao’s 16 Haflong (ST) LA constituency.

    Assam Phase III Polls: Fate of 337 candidates in fray including 25 women

    Election Commission of India is ready to conduct polling at 11,401 centers

    BREAKING: ULFA (I) warns of ‘Action’ against Tata’s Amalgamated Plantation in Assam

    The outfit said that the company's head office was outside Assam where no indigenous personnel from Assam were in employment

    Assam Polls: Police raid at Pramila Rani Brahma’s residence over alleged poll misconduct

    Pramila Rani Brahma and her party members misbehaved with us: SP Kokrajhar