29 C
Friday, April 16, 2021

    Assam Phase III Polls: Fate of 337 candidates in fray including 25 women

    A total of 79,19,641 eligible voters to cast vote on Tuesday

    Assam Phase III Polls: Fate of 337 candidates in fray including 25 women

    Guwahati: Voting for the third and final phase election in the state of Assam will be held in 40 constituencies across 12 districts of the state. Polling will be held in South Salmara, Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Chirang, Bongaigaon, Goalpara, Barpeta, Bajali, Kamrup, Kamrup (Metro), Nalbari and Baksa districts of the state.

    The Election Commission of India is ready to conduct polling at 11,401 centers. A total of 79, 19,641 eligible voters to cast vote on Tuesday, there are 40,11,539 male voters, 39,07,963 female voters and 139 third gender voters.

    A total of 337 candidates are in the fray including 25 women candidates. There are 6 seats reserved for STs and two for SCs. The constituency having the highest number of electors in Phase-III is Dispur with 607 polling booths having 4,11,636 electors.

    In the Baksa district, the fate of 22 candidates will be decided by 5,33,594 eligible voters. Total polling stations are 788. Polling will be held in three assembly constituencies of the district, namely Tamulpur No. 56, Barama No. 62 and Chapaguri No. 63 respectively.

    Out of 788 voting centres, it has identified 113 polling stations as sensitive.

    Baksa Deputy Commissioner Ranjan Sharma said that special security arrangements have been made for the peaceful conduct of the elections at the polling stations in all the poll-bound constituencies.

    Following the COVID-19 protocols, special arrangements have been made for the voters at all the polling stations, informed DC Sharma.

    In Kamrup District, four poll-bound constituencies to go on polls namely Hajo, Palashbari, Boko, Chaygaon. The EVM distribution program started at 5 am on Monday.

    There will be a total of 1106 polling stations in the Kamrup election district, out of which 553 polling stations will have web casting system. The district will also have 40 model polling stations and 20 women-run polling stations.

    In all the four poll-bound constituencies under Kamrup, at least 200 polling stations are reported to be very sensitive. More than 2,200 security guards have been deployed for the security of the polls in Kamrup district. Around 1118 vehicles have been allotted for the movement of the presiding officer and other polling parties.

    Apart from EVMs, polling materials have already been provided to 25 polling stations in remote areas of the Kamrup district. In the meantime, polling and presiding parties have all collected materials for their respective polling stations.

    Candidates List for Phase III Polls

    BJP minister Himanta Biswa Sarma is contesting from Jalukbari, Chandra Mohan Patowary from Dharampur, Siddhartha Bhattacharya from Gauhati East, Asom Gana Parishad’s Phanibhushan Choudhury from Bongaigaon, BJP state chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass from Patacharkuchi, Pramila Rani Brahma from Kokrajhar-East and Kokrajhar MP Naba Sarania from Barama. The fate of 20 sitting MLAs, including eight from the Congress, five from the BJP, three each from the AIUDF and BPF and one from AGP, will be decided in the final phase. Singer Kalpana Patowary is contesting on an AGP ticket from Sarukhetri, while journalists Manjit Mahanta and Hridyananda Gogoi are locked in a battle in Dispur on Congress and NCP tickets respectively.

    Read more : Adil Hussain starrer ‘Lorni – The Flaneur’ nominated at Moscow Film Fest


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published


    ‘Bohag Bihu’ 2021: April 15 declared as closed holiday for Central Govt Employees in Assam

    Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committee held a meeting earlier on December 9, 2020, and decided to remove ‘Bohag Bihu’ from the list of holidays for the year 2021

    No ‘Bohag Bihu’ holiday for Central Govt employees: Assam Witnesses Protest

    Central government offices in Assam will not get Bohag Bihu holidays this year and will have to apply for a restricted holiday during the Assamese New Year festival

    Breaking | ECI orders fresh polls in 4 polling stations in Assam

    Fresh polls at four polling stations will be held on April 20, 2021 from 7 am to 6 pm

    District Admin declared two areas as ‘Containment Zones’ in Biswanath

    Section 144 CrPC imposed in Majuli district likewise Jorhat, Sivasagar, Biswanath, Dhubri districts

    Random COVID-19 Tests in Guwahati from April 10

    The Kamrup Metro district administration appeals to the people of Guwahati for cooperation

    BREAKING: ULFA (I) warns of ‘Action’ against Tata’s Amalgamated Plantation in Assam

    The outfit said that the company's head office was outside Assam where no indigenous personnel from Assam were in employment

    In Assam, a ‘mini-NRC’ for Muslims is on cards

    While the Muslims constitute 34.22% of Assam’s total population, indigenous Muslim population was estimated to be around 40 lakh