24 C
Monday, June 14, 2021

    Assam Polls: Congress-BPF ‘deadlock’ continues over seat-sharing

    In 2006 and 2011, the BPF was part of the Congress-led government in Assam, after which it parted ways during the 2014 elections

    GUWAHATI: Congress-led ‘Mahajoth’ continued to find it difficult to fix the seat-sharing equation with Hagrama Mohilary led Bodoland People’s Front (BPF). While the BPF has wished to contest in all the 12 assembly seats already in its capture, reportedly Congress too wanted to field in at least two of the seats of the Bodoland region.

    On Tuesday, both the leadership of Congress and BPF though met a city hotel to discuss the seat-sharing formula, nothing conclusive came out of the meeting.

    BPF leader Khampha Borgoyary said, “We sought to contest in all the 12 seats. However, a discussion is still to take.”

    Meanwhile, Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Ripun Bora told media that the delay in finalizing the seat-sharing was due to a ‘strategic’ move.

    “It’s all about winning the election and defeating BJP. The Mahajoth is trying to field candidates who have very high winning chances. Congress also sought to field candidates in Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) area but negotiations are on. Nothing is finalized yet. To defeat BJP, any party in Mahajoth may have to do sacrifice,” Bora said.   

    Congress is likely to announced the second list of its candidates on Wednesday evening.

    In 2006 and 2011, the BPF was part of the Congress-led government in Assam, after which it parted ways during the 2014 elections. In the 2016 Assam polls, the BPF won 12 seats out of the 13 it contested and allied with the BJP to form the state government.

    However, the five-year-long alliance with BJP ended in December last year when BJP snapped its ties with BPF and joined hands with Pramod Boro led United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) and formed the new council of executive members in BTR. BPF has already announced candidates for four seats on Monday. BPF’s first list comprised of four candidates – Durgadas Boro from Kolaigaon seat, Rihan Daimary in Udalguri, Charan Boro in Mazbat and Karuna Kanta Swargiary in Panery seat. Durgadas Boro secured a BPF party ticket just after joining the party. He recently quit the Congress party.

    Read more : “I’ll not be the CM even if ‘Mahajoth’ wins”: Badruddin Ajmal


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published