Bezbaruah says no to MHA-constituted panel on Assam Accord

Guwahati, January 12: Former bureaucrat MP Bezbaruah has refused to be a part of the high-level committee formed by the Ministry of home Affairs(MHA) for implementing Clause 6 of the Assam Accord.

Earlier, former presidents of Assam Sahitya Sabha, Dr Nagen Saikia and Rongbong Terang has refused to be part of the nine-member panel. Educationalist Dr Mukuna Rajbangshi and All Assam Students’ Union too exited the panel.

Bezbaruah, in his letter to the Home Ministry, stated that with four members of the panel exiting, the committee is “non-functional and de facto defunct”.

The Assam Accord was a Memorandum of Settlement signed between representatives of the Government of India and the leaders of the Assam Movement in New Delhi on August 15, 1985 in presence of Rajiv Gandhi, the then Prime Minister. A six-year agitation demanding identification and deportation of illegal immigrants was launched by the All Assam Students’ Union in 1979.

 The Clause 6 of the Accord states that appropriate constitutional, legislative and administrative safeguards shall be provided to “protect, preserve and promote the cultural, social, linguistic identity and heritage of the Assamese people.”

Also read:

Nagen Saikia, Rongbong Terang quit Centre’s MHA committee on Clause 6

Widespread protests are going on across Assam against the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2016.

Also read:

MHA forms panel for implementation of Clause 6 of Assam Accord