Breaking: Assam BJP To Field Kamakhya Prasad Tasa For Rajya Sabha Election


Guwahati, May 27, 2019

The Bharatiya Janata Party in Assam has decided to field tribal leader and outgoing Jorhat MP Kamakhya Prasad Tasa for the Rajya Sabha elections.

Two of Assam’s seven Rajya Sabha seats will be vacated after the six-year tenure of former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Santiuse Kujur – both of Congress – ends on June 14th, 2019.  The election for the two Rajya Sabha seats will be held on June 7th, 2019. Singh and Kujur were appointed to the Rajya Sabha on June 15th, 2013 from Assam.

Royal Global University

The 126 members of the Assam Assembly are scheduled to elect members to the two seats. Assam Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said the BJP has finalised to give one seat to a candidate of alliance partner Asom Gana Parishad. AGP leaders said that the party would field former MP Birendra Prasad Baishya for one of the Rajya Sabha seats.

In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP fielded State Power Minister Tapan Kumar Gogoi from Jorhat, who won the seat.