Breaking: BJP To Field 10 Candidates In Assam For Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Rajen Gohain (L), Angoorlata Deka (C) and

Guwahati, March 14, 2019

The State Screening Committee of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on March 14th, 2019 shortlisted the names of the candidates for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The screening committee of the saffron political party has selected two to three names for each of the 10 consistencies.

The candidates are Rameshwar Teli and Pulak Gohain from Dibrugarh; Topon Kumar Gogoi, Kamakhya Prasad Tasa and Shantanu Gogoi from Jorhat; Pradan Baruah and Haren Deori from Lakhimpur; Himanta Biswa Sarma and RP Sharma from Tezpur and Rupak Sarma, Rajen Gohain and Angoorlata Deka from Nagaon parliamentary constituency.

On the other hand, Queen Oja, Jayanta Malla Baruah and Hemanga Thakuria from Guwahati; Ramen Deka and Dilip Saikia from Mangaldai; Haren Sing Bey and Bidyasingh Engleng from Diphu; Rajdeep Rai and Dilip Paul from Silchar and Kripanath Malla and Amaresh Rai from Karimganj.

The BJP has formed the penal to finalise the names of the candidates for the ensuing election. Speaking to media persons, Assam Finance Minister Sarma said, “Out of the 14 seats in Assam, the Bodoland People’s Front will field a candidate in Kokrajhar. On the other hand, we are yet to take a call on which party will contest from the remaining three seats. We will declare the final list of the candidates on March 16th, 2019.”

It may be mentioned that two months after pulling out over the much-debated Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016, the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and BJP are back as allies in poll-bound Assam. The list of AGP candidates for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections will be announced on March 17th, 2019.

The Lok Sabha elections in Assam will be held in three phases on April 11th, 18th and 23rd, 2019. The results of the election will be announced on May 23rd, 2019.