20 C
Monday, April 12, 2021

    BREAKING: ECI ‘Suspended’ Transfers of Assam Top Cops

    The ECI order came after it found the Assam government issuing the transfer orders of these police officials, hours after the Commission announced the poll dates

    GUWAHATI: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Saturday decided to keep the transfer and posting of at least 18 Assam Police officials in abeyance till further orders.  

    The ECI order came after it found the Assam government issuing the transfer orders of these police officials on Friday, hours after the Commission announced the poll dates for Assam and other states with which the provisions of the Model Code of Conduct has come into force immediately.

    In a press statement, the ECI said, “It has come to the notice of Commission that Govt. of Assam has, on 26th February 2021, ordered the transfer of 12 IPS and 6 APS officers. The Commission has therefore decided to keep the transfer/posting of these police officers in abeyance till further orders.”

    On Friday evening, the state government ordered the transfer of top Assam Police officials- Dilip Kumar Dey, Lachit Barua, Rounak Ali Hazarika, Rana Bhuyan, Devojyoti Multharjee and Rafiul Alam Laskar  (all Deputy Inspector General of Police) besides several APS officials.

    Read more : Issue license to tobacco retailers: NLSIU report


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published


    Jorhat Admin enforces section 144 CrPC amid surge in COVID-19 cases

    Six new people were tested positive to COVID-19 in Jorhat on Monday

    Assam: Writer Sikha Sarma receives rape threat in Facebook

    Rongmon Nath, a student of Gauhati University, made derogatory remarks against Sikha Sarma in a Facebook post.

    Dima Hasao: 5 polling officials suspended after EVM raised 181 votes against 90 voters

    A total of 171 votes were raised in an electronic voting machine (EVM) against 90 voters in Dima Hasao’s 16 Haflong (ST) LA constituency.

    BREAKING: ULFA (I) warns of ‘Action’ against Tata’s Amalgamated Plantation in Assam

    The outfit said that the company's head office was outside Assam where no indigenous personnel from Assam were in employment

    Assam Phase III Polls: Fate of 337 candidates in fray including 25 women

    Election Commission of India is ready to conduct polling at 11,401 centers

    Assam Polls: Police raid at Pramila Rani Brahma’s residence over alleged poll misconduct

    Pramila Rani Brahma and her party members misbehaved with us: SP Kokrajhar