34 C
Sunday, July 25, 2021

    Breaking: Himanta Biswa Sarma takes oath as Assam’s 15th Chief Minister

    Ranjeet Dass, Atul Bora Urkhao Gwra Brahma, Parimal Suklabaidya, Chadramohan Patowary also sworn in as cabinet ministers till now

    Guwahati: Himanta Biswa Sarma took the oath as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam here in Guwahati’s Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra, Panjabari in Guwahati on Monday.

    In the meanwhile, Ranjeet Dass, Atul Bora Urkhao Gwra Brahma, Parimal Suklabaidya, Chadramohan Patowary, Keshab Mahanta, Ranuj Pegu, Sanjay Kishan, Jogen Mohan, Ajanta Neog, Ashok Singhal, Pijush Hazarika, Bimal Bora also sworn-in as the new cabinet ministers of the state.

    In photo: Assam’s New Cabinet Ministers

    BJP top leaders Baijayant Panda, BL Santosh were reported to be present at the swearing ceremony.

    The VVIP guests who were present in the swearing-in ceremony are BJP national president JP Nadda, Union Minister Jitendra Singh, Ex-Chief Minister of Assam Sarbananda Sonowal, Arunachal Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh, Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Dev, Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma,  Meghalaya in-charge of BJP, Dr. Chuba Ao and Arunachal Pradesh Deputy CM Chowna Mein.

    The swearing-in ceremony was started at around 12 noon.  

    Besides, Sarma’s mother Mrinalini Devi, his wife Riniki Bhuyan Sarma and children were present at the swearing-in ceremony.


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published