23 C
Tuesday, May 18, 2021

    BTC Polls: Kokrajhar MP Naba Sarania ‘missed’ his vote

    Out of the total 40 constituencies in BTC, the first phase of polls for 21 constituencies in Udalguri and Baksa was held on Monday

    GUWAHATI: Kokrajhar MP and Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) chief Naba Kumar Sarania did not cast his vote at his home constituency of Tamulpur in Baksa district in the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) polls.

    However, the MP said that he could not vote as he was busy campaigning for the second phase of BTC polls. The campaigning for the second phase of BTC polls to end on Tuesday.

    Sarania told Time8, “It’s unfortunate but I was busy campaigning in Kokrajhar and missed it.”

    Though many suspected that he had missed the occasion as his party would lose the polls, he said that GSP would win not only the Tamulpur seat but the BTC polls too.

    “GSP is strong enough to win without a single vote. Though BJP had tried hard to put a dent in my camp, I am confident that my party candidate will win with a large margin,” he claimed.

    GSP has fielded in 35 out of 40 seats of BTC .

    Out of the total 40 constituencies spread across the four BTC districts of Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri, 10 constituencies in Udalguri and 11 in Baksa have gone into polls in the first phase, in which 132 candidates are in the fray.


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published