22 C
Friday, April 16, 2021

    CM Sonowal ‘Failed’ Assam: Lurinjyoti Gogoi joins AJP

    Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Manipur stand fully excluded from the ambit of the CAA

    GUWAHATI: Coming down heavily on Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, former All Assam Students’ Union (AASU) leader Lurinjyoti Gogoi said that the chief minister has failed the people of Assam.

    Gogoi who joined the newly formed regional party of Asom Jatiya Parishad (AJP) on Wednesday during its ongoing general convention in Sivasagar, said that the threat of the Citizenship (Amendment) Act (CAA) continued upon Assam due to the ‘timid’ approach of Sonowal.

    On Wednesday, he said, “If the chief ministers of other north-eastern states can take stand for their own people and managed to get ‘Inner Line Permit’ (ILP) system for their protection, why our state government can’t ask for the same mechanism for Assam? The reality is our leaders in the government have lost their self-esteem, pride and become puppets of Delhi.”

    The demand for ILP gathered momentum in the northeast following the passage of the controversial Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, which is now CAA.

    Though several other NE states’ chief minister also backed the demand and sought to be out of the purview of CAA, the Assam chief minister allegedly did not follow the suit. Interestingly, the Centre later decided to allow ILP in all the states who were demanding for it.

    Now three states— Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Manipur — stand fully excluded from the ambit of the CAA. Three other states — Nagaland, barring Dimapur where ILP is not applicable; Meghalaya, barring Shillong, and Tripura, barring non-tribal areas not covered by Sixth Schedule of the Constitution — are already more or less insulated from its provisions.

    “The leaders of these NE states have shown that when it’s a concern for their community, they are ready to take firm stands. People of Assam need politics of value and leaders who work for the greater interest of the community. AJP is committed to bring politics of value and true regionalism with uncompromising agenda,” Gogoi added.

    The constitution of AJP will also be placed during the convention. AJP was an offshoot of the anti CAA movement when AASU and Asom Jatiyatabadi Yuva Chatra Parishad (AJYCP) announced to float a political party to contest BJP in 2021 state polls.

    The new political entity has given the slogan of “ghore ghore aami” (we in each and every household). Gogoi likely to become the first president of the party.


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published


    Breaking | Rhino kills forest staff in Manas National Park

    The incident was mourned in the entire Barpeta and Bajali regions

    BREAKING: ULFA (I) warns of ‘Action’ against Tata’s Amalgamated Plantation in Assam

    The outfit said that the company's head office was outside Assam where no indigenous personnel from Assam were in employment

    ‘Bohag Bihu’ 2021: April 15 declared as closed holiday for Central Govt Employees in Assam

    Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committee held a meeting earlier on December 9, 2020, and decided to remove ‘Bohag Bihu’ from the list of holidays for the year 2021

    Breaking | ECI orders fresh polls in 4 polling stations in Assam

    Fresh polls at four polling stations will be held on April 20, 2021 from 7 am to 6 pm

    Assam Polls: Mahajot Candidates Taken out of State in fear of ‘Horse Trading’?

    The state has recorded an overall 82.04% of votes in the three-phased polls

    No ‘Bohag Bihu’ holiday for Central Govt employees: Assam Witnesses Protest

    Central government offices in Assam will not get Bohag Bihu holidays this year and will have to apply for a restricted holiday during the Assamese New Year festival

    District Admin declared two areas as ‘Containment Zones’ in Biswanath

    Section 144 CrPC imposed in Majuli district likewise Jorhat, Sivasagar, Biswanath, Dhubri districts