Congress Releases Third List of Candidates, Five To Contest From Assam

Guwahati/New Delhi, March 16, 2019

The Congress on Friday late night(March 15th) released its third list of 18 candidates for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections.

The third list of candidates were declared after a central election committee meeting. Out of the 18 candidates, five are from Assam, eight from Telangana, two in Meghalaya and one each in Nagaland, Sikkim and UP.

Check out the list:

In Assam, Swarup Das has been fielded from Karimganj, All India Mahila Congress chief Sushmita Dev from Silchar, sitting member Gaurav Gogoi from Kaliabor, Sushanta Borgohain from Jorhat. Former union minister Paban Singh Ghatowar has also been fielded from Dibrugarh.

Former Chief Minister of Meghalaya Mukul Sangma to contest from Tura.

Former union minister, Vincent H Pala who is also a sitting MP has been fielded from Shillong.

The other candidate names which came out in the third list are those of K L Chishi to contest from Nagaland and Bharat Basnett from Sikkim.

On Wednesday, the party had released its second list of 16 candidates from Uttar Pradesh and five from Maharashtra.

Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is expected to release its first list of candidates on March 16th 2019. As per reports, the party will announce the list after the party’s election committee meeting. The meeting is likely to be chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, National BJP President Amit Shah at party headquarters in New Delhi.