Congress suffers setback as 5 MLAs resign from M’laya Assembly

Shillong/ Guwahati, December 29: In a major setback to the Congress Party, Five MLAs including former Deputy Chief Minister Rowell Lyngdoh resigned from the Meghalaya Assembly today.

Three other MLAs, including one from the United Democratic Party and two Independents too tendered resignation from the House along with the five Congress MLAs.

Veteran Congress leader Rowell later announced that all eight MLAs, who have resigned will join the National People’s Party next week. There were 30 Congress MLAs among the 60-member Meghalaya Assembly.

Another Congress MLA, P N Syiem had recently resigned from the party. The number of Congress legislators in the Meghalaya Assembly has now come down to 24.

The five Congress Legislators who’ve quit had earlier rebelled against Chief Minister Mukul Sangma and the party leadership. Four of them were earlier, part of the state Cabinet and were sacked by the chief minister in the past alleging incompetence.

The term of the house in the poll bound state expires on March 6.