20 C
Tuesday, April 13, 2021

    Counting Of Votes For 4 Assembly Seats In Assam Underway

    20 candidates are in the fray for 4 seats in Assam

    The counting of votes of by-elections to four assembly constituencies in Assam began on October 24th, 2019. The fate of 20 contestants in the four seats -Rangapara, Sonari, Ratabari and Jania – will be known when results will be announced after counting of votes in the evening hours.

    The by-elections to these four constituencies were necessitated after sitting Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislatures and ministers Pallab Lochan Das (Rangapara) and Tapan Gogoi (Sonari) along with Deputy Speaker Kripanath Mallah (Ratabari) and Congress MLA Abdul Khaleque (Jania) were elected to the Lok Sabha this year.

    In Rangapara, five candidates are in the fray – Rajen Bortakur of BJP, Kartik Kurmi of Congress, Sanjit Rajbangshi of SUCI (Communist), Royal Soreng of CPI(M) and Arup Kumar Chowdhury of the Bharatiya Gana Parishad.

    In Sonari, BJP’s Nabanita Handique and Sushil Kumar Suri of Congress are pitted against each other. On the other hand, four candidates are vying for the Ratabari seat. They are Bijoy Malakar of the BJP, Keshab Prasad Rajak of the Congress, Birendra Ravidas (SUCI-Communist) and Parikhit Roy (Independent).

    As many as nine candidates are in the fray for the Jania seat: Towfiqur Rahman (BJP), Samsul Hoque (Congress), Rafiqul Islam (AIUDF), Chand Mahmud (NPP), Faruk Khan (AAP), Rustom Ali (CPI-M), Rafikul Islam (Democratic Party of India), Abdul Jalil Talukdar (Ind) and Subhash Sutradhar (Independent).

    Counting of votes is also underway in three assembly constituencies in Sikkim (Gangtok, Martam Rumtek and Poklok Kamrang), one each in Meghalaya (Shella) and Arunachal Pradesh (Khonsa West).

    Photo: Time8


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published


    Assam: Writer Sikha Sarma receives rape threat in Facebook

    Rongmon Nath, a student of Gauhati University, made derogatory remarks against Sikha Sarma in a Facebook post.

    BREAKING: ULFA (I) warns of ‘Action’ against Tata’s Amalgamated Plantation in Assam

    The outfit said that the company's head office was outside Assam where no indigenous personnel from Assam were in employment

    Breaking | Sikha Sarma slapped with sedition charges, sent to judicial custody

    Sikha Sarma in a Facebook post refused to consider the soldiers killed in the Maoist attack in Chhattisgarh as martyrs

    Assam Phase III Polls: Fate of 337 candidates in fray including 25 women

    Election Commission of India is ready to conduct polling at 11,401 centers

    Ex-CM Bhumidhar Barman is stable, still in ICU: APCC

    Ex-CM Barman is being treated under the supervision of Dr Sohidul Alom Choudhury

    Pramila Rani Brahma alleges malpractice by UPPL party ahead of polling in Kokrajhar

    BPF candidate from Kokrajhar East Constituency Pramila Rani Brahma cast her vote at Kokrajhar Vidyapith High School