25 C
Monday, June 14, 2021

    Delhi Election Results: PM Modi Congratulates Arvind Kejriwal On Landslide Victory

    Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP won 62 seats out of 70 seats while the Bharatiya Janata Party won 8 seats

    Prime Minister Narendra Modi on February 11th, 2020, congratulated the chief of the Aam Aadmi Party Arvind Kejriwal for the landslide victory in the Delhi Assembly Elections.

    “Congratulations to AAP and Arvind Kejriwal Ji for the victory in the Delhi Assembly Elections. Wishing them the very best in fulfilling the aspirations of the people of Delhi,” the PM tweeted.

    Replying to Modi’s tweet, Kejriwal said, “Thank u so much, sir. I look forward to working closely wid Centre to make our capital city into a truly world-class city. (sic)”

    Nobel Peace Laureate Kailash Satyarthi, while congratulating Kejriwal, wrote, “This is the victory of people, development & dignity.”

    Kejriwal-led AAP won 62 seats out of 70 seats while the Bharatiya Janata Party won just 8 seats.

    Source: Election Commission of India

    Kejriwal defeated Sunil Yadav of the BJP and Romesh Sabharwal of the Congress in New Delhi constituency where he had won convincingly in 2015 and 2013. He thanked Lord Hanuman and chanted “Bharat Mata Ki Jai” as he addressed his joyous supporters and party workers at the party headquarters in the city. “We pray that Hanuman Ji keeps showing the right path to us so that we continue to serve people for the next five years,” he said.

    Kejriwal is likely to take oath as Chief Minister for the third consecutive term on the Valentine’s Day – February 14th, 2020. In 2013, Kejriwal defeated the then CM Sheila Dikshit of the Congress by 25,864 votes while in 2015, he defeated Nupur Sharma of the BJP by a margin of 31,583 votes.

    Photo credit: @vijayanpinarayi, @PMOIndia


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published