Despite ‘Solution Before Election’ 253 Candidates file Nomination in Nagaland

Representative image

Guwahati/Nagaland, February 8: After days of slogans and meetings that stated that almost all the political parties will boycott the Nagaland election with a slogan ‘solution before election’, on the last day of filing the nomination almost 253 candidates finally filed their poll papers.

The ruling party in Nagaland, the Naga People’s Front (NPF) will be contesting for 59 seats while the newly formed Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) which is led by Neiphiu Rio, the former Chief Minister will be contesting for 40 seats.

On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party will contest for 20 seats, the Congress will contest in 19 seats, the National People’s Party on 28 seats while JD(U) is contesting for 15 seats.

This time the Aam Aadmi Party will contest for 3 seats and the Nationalist Congress Party will contest on 6 seats, Lok Jan Pary will contest for 2 seats and 17 independent candidates have also filed their papers.

It may be mentioned that Chief Minister TR Zeliang will contest from 7-Peren constituency, Neiphiu Rio will contest from 11-Northern Angami-I A/C and former chief minister K L Chishi from the 32-Atoizu seat.

It may also be noted that a few days ago almost all the political parties in Nagaland, including the have decided not to take part in the upcoming Assembly election process in Nagaland. The political groups of Nagaland are demanding a solution to the Naga issue before the upcoming elections. The six Naga groups extended their support to all the tribal organizations to not to conduct elections till the demands are fulfilled by the government.