20 C
Tuesday, April 13, 2021

    Diwali Dhamaka For BJP In 3 Assembly Seats In Assam

    The workers and supporters of the saffron party went to celebration mode as the trends started coming on television screens and ECI website

    Diwali arrived early for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) when the party registered a big win in three assembly seats in Ratabari, Sonari and Rangapara assembly seats. The three victorious candidates are: Bijoy Malakar in Ratabari, Rajen Borthakur (Rangapara) and Nabanita Handique (Sonari).

    The workers and supporters of the saffron party went to celebration mode as the trends started coming on television screens and Election Commission of India (ECI) website. The party workers burst into celebration the BJP offices on October 24th, 2019. The BJP workers were seen bursting crackers and distributing sweets.

    The by-election was necessitated after Abdul Khaleque of Congress (Jania), Pallab Lochan Das (Rangapara), Kripa Nath Mallah (Ratabari) and Tapan Gogoi (Sonari), all of the BJP, were elected as the Lok Sabha MP in May this year.

    “The victory has once again proved that the people of this state and country have rejected the opposition parties. They have extended their support whole-heartedly to developmental works initiated by BJP Government,” a Ratabari BJP worker told newsmen.

    A total of 6,77,367 voters had exercised their franchise in 830 polling booths to decide the fate of 20 candidates contesting in the bypolls for four assembly seats.

    Photo: Time8


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published


    Assam: Writer Sikha Sarma receives rape threat in Facebook

    Rongmon Nath, a student of Gauhati University, made derogatory remarks against Sikha Sarma in a Facebook post.

    BREAKING: ULFA (I) warns of ‘Action’ against Tata’s Amalgamated Plantation in Assam

    The outfit said that the company's head office was outside Assam where no indigenous personnel from Assam were in employment

    Breaking | Sikha Sarma slapped with sedition charges, sent to judicial custody

    Sikha Sarma in a Facebook post refused to consider the soldiers killed in the Maoist attack in Chhattisgarh as martyrs

    Assam Phase III Polls: Fate of 337 candidates in fray including 25 women

    Election Commission of India is ready to conduct polling at 11,401 centers

    Ex-CM Bhumidhar Barman is stable, still in ICU: APCC

    Ex-CM Barman is being treated under the supervision of Dr Sohidul Alom Choudhury

    Pramila Rani Brahma alleges malpractice by UPPL party ahead of polling in Kokrajhar

    BPF candidate from Kokrajhar East Constituency Pramila Rani Brahma cast her vote at Kokrajhar Vidyapith High School