ECI Declares Re-Polling In 168 Polling Stations In Tripura West Constituency


Agartala, May 8, 2019

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on May 8th, 2019 ordered re-polling at 168 polling stations in Tripura West parliamentary constituency on May 12th, 2019. The polling for the constituency was held on April 11th, 2019.

An official statement said, “After taking all material circumstances into account, the Election Commission declared under Sub-Sections (2) of Section 58 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 that the poll was taken on April 11th, 2019, at 168 polling stations in 1-Tripura West parliamentary constituency against the assembly segments to be void and appoints May 12th at the date and fix hours from 7 am to 5 pm for taking a fresh poll.”

Royal Global University

The assembly segments in Tripura West include Khayerpur, Ramnagar, Town Bordowali, Majlishpur, Simna (ST), Mohanpur, Bamutia (SC), Barjala (SC), Mandai Bazar, Takarjala (ST), Pratapgarh (SC), Badharghat (SC), Kamalasagar, Bishalgarh, Golghati, Charilam, Boxanagar, Nalchar, Sonamura, Dhanpur, Bagma (ST), Radhakishorepur, Matabari, Kakraban-Salgarah (SC), Rajnagar (SC) and Belonia.

The ECI directed the Tripura Chief Electoral Officer to ensure that wide publicity is given in the polling areas.

It may be mentioned that Tripura was among the five states that saw the highest voter turnout with 83.26 per cent. Polling for two parliamentary constituencies in Tripura was held in two phases – on April 11th and 18th, 2019. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.