Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh Retires from Rajya Sabha

Photo Courtesy: Samaja Live English

Guwahati, June 15, 2019

Former Prime Minister of India and veteran Congress leader Manmohan Singh on June 14th, 2019(Friday) officially ended his Rajya Sabha term, as Congress lacked the adequate number required in the Assam legislature to ensure his re-election.

The 86-year-old Congress leader had debuted in the Upper House on October 1, 1991, from Assam and represented the state for five consecutive terms. Singh was also the leader of the House during his 10 years as PM, and leader of the Opposition from 1998 to 2004.

Royal Global University

The Rajya Sabha elections to elect the retiring members of the Rajya Sabha was held on June 7th, 2019 and July 2019. The elections are being held to elect 2 members from Assam and 6 members from Tamil Nadu in July 2019.

The Congress party could not get him re-elected from Assam as the party had only 25 MLAs against 43 first-preference votes.

It may be mentioned that Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) senior leader and former Union Minister Birendra Prasad Baishya and outgoing Jorhat BJP MP Kamakhya Prasad Tasa were officially declared unopposed winners to the two Rajya Sabha seats from Assam on May 31st, 2019.