Four authors from Northeast win Sahitya Akademi Awards


Guwahati, December 6: Four literary lumineries from Northeast have won the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Awards 2018 for their work in different genres.

The Sahitya Akademi announced its annual Sahitya Akademi Awards in 24 languages.

The quartet were announced with the literary honour on Wednesday.

Royal Global University

From Assam renowned author Sananta Tanti has been selected for the award for his poems ‘Kailoir Dinto Amar Hobo’, Rituraj Basumatary another novelist from the state has won the award for the collection of his short stories ‘Dwngse Lama’, Loknath Upadhyay Chapagain for his short stories ‘Kino Royeu Upamaa'(Nepaliand Manipuri novelist Budhichandra Seisnamba for ‘Ngamkheigee Wangmada’.

The awards were recommended by distinguished jury members representing 24 Indian languages and approved by the Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi.

The names were approved by the Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi which met on Wednesday under the chairmanship of Dr. Chandrashekhar Kambar, president, Sahitya Akademi.

The Awards in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and a cheque of Rs. 1,00,000/- will be presented to the authors at a special function on January 29, 2019 at New Delhi during the Festival of Letters organized by Sahitya Akademi.