I Felt Greatly Insulted: RP Sharma On Tendering Resignation

Guwahati, March 16, 2019

The speculation over giving candidature to Assam Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma to contest from the Tezpur parliamentary seat and sitting MP Ram Prasad Sharma’s threatening to quit the party if the ticket is offered to the former took a new turn on Saturday after the sitting MP announced to quit the party “feeling greatly insulted”.

“I have resigned from the BJP. I am not sad that Himanta Biswa Sarma is contesting in the elections, but what hurt me the most is when the party’s state election committee did not even bother to at least nominate my name in the panel list. After serving the party for almost three decades if feel betrayed. So being in the party does not make any sense,” said RP Sharma.

“Resigning from the primary membership of the BJP right now after serving the RSS/VHP for 15 years and the BJP for 29 years. I felt greatly insulted when my name, a sitting MP and the President of Assam Gorkha Sammelan, did not find place in panel sent up by the state BJP committee. Friends and the people of Assam and my constituency, I will continue to serve you till the end of my life. I will always lovingly nurture your support and love for me for such a long time. I love you from the core of my heart,” (sic) the sitting MP wrote on his facebook handle.

Sharma won the 2014 Lok Sabha election from the constituency by beating Congress candidate Bhupen Kumar Borah by a margin of 132,446 votes. It may be mentioned that the MP’s relation with the BJP began to sour about two years ago after he accused the state government of going soft on the Assam Public Service Commission (APSC) cash-for-job scam.

Sharma further added that he “feels pained for the old BJP workers of Assam who were neglected in the Party by the new intruders”.

“I was strongly raising my voice on their behalf. Now there will be none to raise voice for them. It’s old guards of the Party who tioling for decades brought BJP to power without any other support. But now they are most neglected and ill treated. Love you my dear friends. I will be still with you. Thank you for your help and support and support and love for me” (sic) Sharma added.

Voting in the Tezpur constituency will take place on the April 11th, 2019. Tezpur constituency in Assam spreads across Lakhimpur, Sonitpur and Udalguri districts.