18 C
Wednesday, February 17, 2021

    LIVE UPDATES: BTC Poll results; Pramod Boro to be next BTC chief

    United People’s Party Liberal president Pramod Boro was announced the new BTC chief by Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal

    Guwahati: The counting of votes for the polls to the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) started from 8 am on Saturday.

    78% voter turnout was recorded on December 10 for 19 seats in BTC’s second phase of polling held in Kokrajhar and Chirang districts.  While, 77.01% of voters turnout was registered during the first phase of voting carried out in Udalguri and Baksa districts.


    • The fate of 241 candidates for 40 constituencies of BTC will be decided in today’s counting.
    • The counting is being held in 10 sub division headquarters of four districts.
    • The counting is underway in Kokrajhar, Gossaigaon, Parbatjhora, Chirang, Bijni, Tamulpur, Bhergaon, Udalguri, Salbari and Mushalpur.
    • UPPL is leading on 9 seats out of 40, while BPF is leading on 7 seats and BJP secured 1 seat
    • UPPL is leading on three seats (postal ballots) and BJP and BPF with one seat each in Baksa
    • Out of 40 seats; UPPL is leading on 20 seats, BFP on 10, BJP on 3, Congress on 1, AIUDF on 1, and others on 1.
    • 1st round in Debargaon constituency: UPPL candidate Buddadev Mushahary leading with 48 votes against BPF candidate Hagrama Mohilary
    • The United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) is heading over incumbent Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) in the counting of the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) polls in the first round.
    • As per trends at the end of the first round, UPPL was leading 24 seats while BPF was leading in 9 seats. The counting of the postal votes has already ended and now the ballot papers would be counted.
    • Chaos erupted in Tamulpur Higher Secondary school after a person entered the counting centre without a valid identity card. Police intervened and apprehended the accused. People alleged that the accused was from the BJP party.
    • Congress taking a huge lead in the Srirampur constituency of Kokrajhar.
    • Hagrama Mohilary is lagging behind with 2,358 votes against Buddhadev Mochahary in the third round of counting of postal ballots in the Debargaon constituency.
    • BPF candidate Prabhat Basumatary won from Bijni’s Supaijhar seat. He defeated UPPL’s Guneshwar Goyari
    • The BPF has also won in Nichima constituency as James Basumatary had a grand win with 17,754 votes
    • Saikhong Basumatary of BPF won from Chirang district
    • United People’s Party Liberal candidate BR Ferenga has defeated the incumbent BPF candidate Khampa Borgoyari in Chirangduar constituency
    • B Saoraigwra of BPF won in Chirang constituency
    • UPPL’s Sanjay Swargiary wins in Harisinga constituency of Udalguri with 15,221 votes
    • BJP candidate Diganta Barua wins in Mudoibari constituency of Udalguri by a margin of 900 votes against UPPL’s Anthony Basumatary
    • Hagrama Mohilary: “I’m leading in both Kachugaon and Debargaon. I will win both of them.”
    • UPPL candidate Dilip Kumar Boro wins in Khalingduar constituency of Udalguri
    • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has bagged 9 seats in the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) election.
    • Former All Bodo Students’ Union (ABSU) president Pramod Bodo led United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) wins 12 seats in the BTC election across four districts of Assam.
    • The Bodoland’d People Font has emerged as the single largest party in BTC election by winning 17 out of 40 seats.
    • United People’s Party Liberal president Pramod Boro was announced the new BTC chief by Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal.
    • Following the declaration of the result of the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) election, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) and Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) leaders had a meeting with CM Sonowal at his official residence in Guwahati.
    • The decision has been taken in consultation with BJP, UPPL and GSP. All the three parties will from an alliance.


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published


    Grocery, Chemist Shops To Remain Open From 8 AM Daily During Lockdown In Assam

    Government fixed the timing of operation for wholesalers from 8 am to 4 pm and for retailers from 8 am to 7 pm

    Ulfa (I) Abduction Case: No Success in Rescue Ops; Hostage’s Family Worries as Deadline Nears

    Sources claimed that Ulfa (I) had possibly kept the duo captive somewhere deep inside the Namdapha National Park in Arunachal Pradesh which shares its border with Myanmar,

    Assam CM attends ‘Mahila Samaroh’; launches major schemes for women

    The CM launched Vistarita Kanaklata Mahila Sabalikaran Yojana which will pay a capital subsidy of Rs 50,000 each and Revolving Fund of Rs 25,000 each of self-help groups (finance).

    ‘CAA to be implemented after Covid vaccination ends’ says HM Shah

    The home minister made the statement during his one-day whirlwind tour of the poll-bound West Bengal. Shah addressed a rally in the bastion of the Matua community.

    BREAKING: Trader shot in Bongaigaon

    A preliminary investigation said that the businessman identified as Rafiqul Islam was returning home after finishing his work

    Guwahati: Rare cardiac Surgery performed at a city hospital

    The patient, a 39 year old lady, from Tarinipur in Silchar presented with heavy chest pain, severe breathing difficulty along with bluish discoloration of lips and peripheries.

    Poll stunt for Assam & Bengal? Amit Shah visits Koch ‘Maharaja’ at his Assam residence

    In Assam, Koch-Rajbongshis along with five other communities in Assam has long been demanding the scheduled caste status