Lok Sabha Election: Congress Gives Ticket To Mukul Sangma, Vincent H. Pala In Meghalaya

Mukul Sangma (L) and Vincent H Pala (R)
Mukul Sangma (L) and Vincent H Pala (R)

New Delhi/ Shillong, March 15, 2019

The central screening committee of the Congress on March 15th, 2019 declared the final names of the candidates to be fielded in Meghalaya. The former Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma will contest from Tura parliamentary seat and Union Minister Vincent H. Pala from the Shillong parliamentary seat, a Congress official said. Meghalaya has two parliamentary constituencies — Shillong and Tura — that will go to polls on April 11.

Sangma is currently the leader of opposition in the Meghalaya Assembly and Chairman of the North East Congress Coordination Committee (NECCC). On the other hand, Pala is representing as Congress MP in the Lok Sabha who was nominated from Shillong parliamentary seat. Pala had won the last parliamentary elections by a margin of 40,379 votes against Independent candidate P.B.M. Basaiawmoit.

On March 11th, 2019, the ruling National People’s Party (NPP)-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government announced that it would jointly field former Union Minister Agatha K. Sangma from the Tura Lok Sabha seat and United Democratic Party (UDP)’s Jemino Mawthoh from Shillong. Agatha is the sister of the Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma and the youngest daughter of former Lok Sabha Speaker Purno Agitok Sangma.