Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Who Will Contest From Guwahati? Check Out BJP’s Candidates’ List

Guwahati, March 17, 2019

The Assam Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) unit is likely to field Queen Ojha from Gauhati East parliamentary seat. As per reports, the BJP has confirmed candidates for nine out of ten seats in Assam.

It may be mentioned that two months after pulling out over the much-debated Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016, the AGP and BJP are back as allies in poll-bound Assam.  The AGP will contest from Kaliabor, Barpeta and Dhubri constituencies respectively. The Bodoland People’s Front will field Assam Minister Pramila Rani Brahma from Kokrajhar.

The BJP parliamentary board has decided to drop five sitting MPs – Ramen Deka (Mangaldai), Rajen Gohain (Nagaon), Kamakhya Prasad Tasa (Jorhat), Bijoya Chakravarty (Guwahati) and RP Sharma (Tezpur).

As per reports, BJP is going field Dilip Saikia from Mangaldoi, Pradan Baruah from Lakhimpur, Rameswar Teli from Dibrugarh, Topon Kumar Gogoi from Jorhat, Rupak Sharma from Nagaon, Rajdeep Roy from Silchar, Kripanath Mallah from Karimganj and Haren Singh Bey from Diphu.

For the Nagaon seat, the party leadership has reportedly rejected Union Minister of State Rajen Gohain’s plea to nominate his wife in his place.

The candidate for Tezpur is yet to be decided. As per reports, Assam Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma was likely to contest 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Tezpur.  In 2014, the BJP MP R P Sarmah won from the Tezpur seat. However, he resigned
from the primary membership of the party on March 16th, 2019

The Lok Sabha elections in Assam will be held in three phases on April 11th, 18th and 23rd, 2019. The results of the election will be announced on May 23rd, 2019.

A total of 21,760,604 voters will exercise their franchise in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Assam. A total of 706,489 young voters – 40,47,15 males and 301,774 females – in the age group of 18 to 19 years in Assam will exercise their franchise for the first time in the Lok Sabha polls. Out of 21,760,604 voters, 111,327,82 are males and 106,278,22 are females.

756,284, 68,364,96 and 74,078,24 voters in Phase I, Phase II and III respectively will cast their votes in 28,143 polling stations.