Lok Sabha Elections: Over 69 Lakh Electors To Decide Fate Of Candidates In Phase II


Guwahati, April 17, 2019

A total of 6,910,592 electors will decide the fate of the candidates in the second phase of the Lok Sabha Election to be held on April 18th, 2019. A total of 8992 polling stations have been set up for the polling of Lok  Sabha elections in five parliamentary constituencies of Assam – Silchar, Karimganj, Mangaldai, Autonomous District (ST) and Nagaon.

Out of 6910592 electors, 3554460 male, 3355952 female and 180 third gender electors will exercise their franchise.

Royal Global University

A total of 35,968 polling personnel and 169 companies of security forces have been deployed across the five constituencies for smooth conduction of polling.

On the other hand, 3 police observers 137 Flying Squad Team (FST), 127 Static Surveillance Team (SST) and 105 Video Surveillance Team (VST) have been deployed for the Phase II polling.

A total of 1,60,747.33 litres of liquors of worth Rs 1,42,43,620 have been seized as of April 17th, 2019 while Rs. 12,05,64,901 is cash have been seized.

Meanwhile, polling stations with all women polling personnel under second phase are divided in Karimganj (11), Silchar (10), Autonomous Districts (ST) (23), Mangoldoi (67) and Nowgong (26).

The first phase of the election was conducted on April 11th, 2019 in five constituencies of the state – Tezpur, Kalilabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur.

Key Contenders

KARIMGANJ Radheshyam Biswas (AIUDF) Kripanath Malla Swarup Das Radheshyam Biswas
SILCHAR Sushmita Dev (Congress) Rajdeep Roy Sushmita Dev
AUTONOMOUS DISTRICT(ST) Biren Singh Engti (Congress) Haren Sing Bey Biren Singh Engti
MANGALDOI Ramen Deka (Congress) Dilip Saikia Bhubaneswar Kalita
NAGAON Rajen Gohain (BJP) Rupak Sharma Pradyut Bordoloi

Quick Look

No.    &    Name    of Parliamentary Constituency Total Polling Stations General Electors
Male Female Third Gender Total
1-Karimgani (SC) 1721 696638 641349 18 1338005
2-Silchar 1461 613931 577283 75 1191289
3-Autonomous District (ST) 1174 404528 390551 6 795085
8-Mangaldoi 2353 920977 874520 32 1795529
10-Nowgong 2283 918386 872249 49 1790684
PHASE – II Total 8992 3554460 3355952 180 6910592