28 C
Monday, June 14, 2021

    Manipur Crisis Over? NPP re-supports Biren Singh Government

    Four NPP MLAs to withdraw their resignation after Amit Shah’s assurance to address their issues

    Guwahati: Ending the weeklong political drama in Manipur, four legislators of the National People’s Party (NPP) who had withdrawn support from the incumbent government re-extended their support to Chief Minister N Biren Singh led BJP government.

    They submitted a letter to Governor Najma Heptulla on Thursday, extending their support.

    NPP chief and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma, who reached Imphal from Delhi, said the party MLAs will also withdraw their resignation as minister as senior BJP leader and Union Home Minister Amit Shah has assured to address their issues.

    Sangma said that they would be back as ministers again.

    “A delegation of National People’s Party led by Shri @SangmaConrad alongwith Shri @himantabiswa called on me and all the 4 MLAs gave their letter of support to BJP led Government in the State of Manipur,” Heptulla tweeted.

    Later they also met the Chief Minister.

    Sangma added, “All the four MLAs had met JP Nadda and Amit Shah, and expressed their grievances and concerns as a part of the alliance. Both the leaders understood and assured us that all the issues will be addressed and taken care of,” he said.

    Though there is a possible chance of changes in the portfolios of the MLAs, they will continue as ministers, sources said.

    Earlier, North East Democratic Alliance convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma had taken the NPP leaders to Delhi to meet Shah on Wednesday. Sarma was roped in to fix the Manipur government crisis by the Central leadership of BJP.

    The Biren Singh led BJP government faced a major jolt when four ministers from the NPP quit the government, three BJP MLAs resigned and the lone Trinamool Congress MLA and an Independent legislator withdrew their support from the government.

    Taking advantage of the situation, Opposition Congress swung into action and roped in the disgruntled MLAs to form an alliance – Secular Progressive Front (SPF) – with the hope of installing a government in the state under the leadership of former chief minister Ibobi Singh.

    After the 2017 assembly polls, the BJP had formed a coalition government with the help of the NPP and others.


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published