MGVK Bhanu Takes To Streets In Biswanath To Woo Voters

Congress candidate from Tezpur MGVK Bhanu speaking to media persons in Biswanath on April 8, 2019
Congress candidate from Tezpur MGVK Bhanu speaking to media persons in Biswanath on April 8, 2019. Photo: TIME8


Biswanath, April 8, 2019

With only a few days remaining for the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections, candidates and political parties are leaving no stone unturned to reach out to the voters.  The Congress candidate from Tezpur Lok Sabha constituency, MGVK Bhanu on April 8th, 2019 took to the streets of Biswanath town to woo the voters. Bhanu is contesting against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Pallab Lochan Das.

Bhanu said, “Meeting people on the streets is a good way to communicate with the mass. You get a chance to know the real pulse of the public.”

The Gorkha population plays a pivotal role in this constituency with a maximum number of rural voters. In fact, the constituency has elected Gorkha MPs five times in the last 25 years, including the incumbent RP Sarmah. Tea workers are also a notable vote bank in this constituency.

From salaani maas (imported fish) to ‘Sir’ remarks – the battle for the Tezpur parliamentary seat is going to be an interesting one with accusations and counter-accusations flying thick and fast between BJP candidate and Assam Minister Das and former additional chief secretary Bhanu.

Polling in Tezpur, constituting eight Assembly segments, is scheduled for April 11th, 2019. A total of 14,94,878 voters will choose the ‘Sir’ of Tezpur. Out of 14,94,878 voters, 76,35,99 are males, 731248 females and 31 are third gender voters.

Polling for ensuing Lok Sabha election will be held in three phases in the state – April 11th, 18th and 23rd, 2019.

Quick Pick


Assembly Constituencies: Dhekiajuli, Barchalla, Tezpur, Rangapara, Sootea, Biswanath, Behali, Gohpur, Bihpuria

Constituency number: 9

Key contenders: Tezpur will witness a cut-throat between state labour minister, Pallab Lochan Das, who has been offered ticket by BJP to contest and former IAS officer, MGVK Bhanu.

Total electors: 1494878

Male electors: 763599

Female electors: 731248

Third Gender: 31

Reserved: No

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: Ram Prasad Sarmah of the BJP is the sitting MP from Tezpur. In the 2009 elections, Joseph Toppo of the AGP won the seat while Moni Kumar Subah of the Congress scored poll hat trick between 1998 and 2004.