MNF, BJP In Fray To Snatch Lone LS Seat From Congress In Mizoram

Aizawl, March 13, 2019

Mizoram will witness a high decibel electoral battle for the Congress occupied the lone parliamentary seat for last two consecutive terms. The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress will come to warfront in the ensuing general election.

The BJP and the People’s Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) party had already announced that they would go it alone in the polls. On the other side, the Congress in coalition with the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) will give its tough fight this election to maintain consistency in the parliamentary election.

The Congress had won 2009 as well as 2014 Lok Sabha election consecutively and has been eying to pocket the seat this year also.

It may be mentioned that Mizoram was dominated by the regional political party – MNF in the Assembly election held in December 2018 and formed government. BJP’s dismal performance in the Assembly election may give a headache to the party in the election war zone.

Around 7,84,405 in Mizoram will exercise franchise on April 11th, 2019 (Thursday) and counting of votes will be held on May 23rd, 2019.

It may be mentioned that the Congress candidate CL Ruala won the 2009 and 2014 general election in Mizoram consecutively. Ruala was followed by an Independent candidate Robert Romawia Royte.