Naga issue getting serious as 10 MLAs resign from NPF to boycott elections

Representative Image

Kohima, January 31: In another setback 10 MLAs of the Naga People’s Front (NPF) have resigned in connection with their demand for a solution to Naga talks before the general elections.

The members have taken a strong stand to boycott elections until Centre provides them with a proper solution to their problem. The members who have resigned from the party are former Parliamentary Affairs Minister Tokheho Yepthomi, former Roads and Bridges Minister Neikiesalie Nicky Kire, Former Environment Minister Neiba Kronu, S Pangnyu, Zhaleo Rio, Deo Nukhu, CM Chang, Pohwang Konyak, Namri Nchang and Neiba Kronu.

Reportedly, 11 political parties of Nagaland have issued a joint declaration to not to file nominations for the February 27 elections and will continue to demand a permanent solution of the Naga issue.

After the resignation of members, the ruling NPF party has been reduced to 46 members only.

Nagaland assembly has recently adopted a resolution appealing the government to take immediate steps to resolve the Naga issue before the assembly elections. According to reports, one of the NPF MLAs has said that people are happy as they hope that the Central government will respect the sentiments of the people of the Naga people and will provide a solution soon.