Naga People’s Front To Disqualify Seven Rebel MLAs

Kohima, April 25, 2019

The opposition Naga People’s Front (NPF) has filed a disqualification petition before Assembly Speaker Vikho-o Yhoshu against seven of its legislators for going against the party’s collective decision to support the Congress during the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

The NPF had supported Congress’ candidate, former Chief Minister KL Chishi.

The seven rebel NPF legislators– Kejong Chang, EE Pangteang, Eshak Konyak, CL John, BS Nganlang, N Thongwang Konyak and Toyang Chang however not going through the party’s decision campaigned for Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate Tokheho Yepthomi.

They were even issued with show-cause notices.

It may be mentioned that Tokheho Yepthomi is the joint candidate of the ruling NDPP-led PDA, which also comprises of the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP), Janata Dal-United and an Independent.

“The reason of filling the disqualification petition against the seven erring MLAs is willfully defying the party’s collection decision to support the Congress in the Parliamentary Election 2019 to the lone Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency,” read a statement by the NPF.

“It is crystal clear that by openly going against the party’s decision amounts to voluntarily giving up the membership of the NPF. The party have empowered the NPF legislature wing to file and pursue the disqualification petitions against the erring legislators.” The NPF further stated.