Guwahati: The streaming giant, Netflix, is testing out a stopgap measure to crack down on the unauthorized use of account login information.
Netflix is rolling out alerts asking users to verify they are authorized to watch on the account to be able to keep watching.
Reportedly, a Netflix spokesperson said in a statement that, “This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so.” The company’s terms of service say accounts “may not be shared with individuals beyond your household.”
When a user selects their profile on a shared Netflixaccount, a pop-up will ask them to verify the account by confirming with a text or email sent to the account holder. Users can also choose to verify later, in which case, the pop-up will show up again at an undetermined later time. If they can’t confirm they’re an authorized user, viewers will be prompted to set up a new account.
However, the new feature is just a test, and it’s rolling out to a limited number of users who watch on the Netflix TV app.
Netflixand other streaming platforms have been grappling with how to handle password sharing – and whether to bother with trying to prevent it at all – for years.