3 NE states fail to implement Women Welfare Schemes

Delhi Bureau

New Delhi, December 7: A bench of Supreme Court of India comprising of Justice Madan Lokur and Justice Deepak Gupta on Wednesday imposed a penalty of Rs 2 lakh each to 12 states including Assam, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh for not complying to Central Government policies meant for destitute women.

The division bench said  “we are extremely pained to note from a reading of the affidavit (Submitted by Union Ministry of Child and Family Welfare) and complete lack of positive responses from the States and UTs that there is a very little concern, if at all, for the welfare of states and UTs. This absence of concern is not going to take forward the rights of women in the country.”

In its earlier hearing, the bench had asked the Ministry to get a response from all the States and UTs while dealing with issues related to precarious condition faced by destitute women.

In the hearing on Wednesday, the Union Government submitted that no responses were received from the State Governments despite issuing notices.

On Wednesday, the Union Ministry of Child and Family Welfare again reiterated that at least 12 states have not bothered to respond- Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Gujarat, Mizoram, Assam, Himachal Pradesh, J&K, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Arunachal Pradesh and UT of Dadra and Nagar Haveli. This has prompted the bench to penalise each state.

Speaking to Time8, Runa Bhuyan, Advocate in the Supreme Court said that while Northeastern states are known for woman empowerment; this is actually a misnomer when it comes to state governments.

“It is deplorable that the state governments of Assam, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh display such apathy towards implementing policies for the welfare of destitute women” Bhuyan added.

Edited by: Arnab Jyoti Das