Lok Sabha Elections: Modi Stirs Tweetstorm, Asks Northeast CMs To Encourage People To Vote

The results of the election will be announced on May 23rd, 2019
The results of the election will be announced on May 23rd, 2019

Guwahati, March 13, 2019

As the countdown for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 has begun, Prime Minister Narendra Modi went on a tweetstorm on March 13th, 2019 and appealed to India’s biggest names across all walks of life, including the Chief Ministers from the Northeast, to encourage Indian citizens to vote in the upcoming elections.

In a matter of an hour, Modi tweeted 29 times and tagged the opposition leaders, film stars, sportspersons, journalists, businessmen among many others. In a series of tweets, Modi asked the Chief Ministers of the Northeastern states to “work towards increasing vote awareness in the Northeast.”

“Dear @sarbanandsonwal, @himantabiswa, @SangmaConrad and @Neiphiu_Rio, I request you to work towards increasing vote awareness in the Northeast. A vote is powerful way for people to express and become active participants in India’s growth trajectory,” tweeted Modi.

It may be mentioned that the Bharatiya Janata Party will contest the upcoming 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Assam in alliance with Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF).

The Assam State Election Department has appointed sprinter Hima Das, actor Kapil Bora, singer Tarali Sarma and bodybuilder Golap Rabha as State icons to create awareness about the electoral process across Assam.

He also reached out to Sikkim Chief Minister Pawan Chamling to solicit his support in improving voting across the country in the coming elections.

Modi asked the opposition parties to create awareness among voters about their right to vote. He requested them to strengthen these efforts “across the length and breadth of India”

The 2019 general election will be held in seven phases, the Election Commission (EC) announced on March 10th, 2019. Around 900 million or 90 crore people have been registered as voters for the 2019 general election. These include 1.5 crore new voters in the age group of 18 to 19.

The Lok Sabha polls in the eight northeastern states will be held in three phases in April – 11, 18 and 23rd.  While polling in Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Sikkim will be held in a single phase, polling in Manipur and Tripura will be held in two phases and polling in Assam will be held in three phases.

The first phase of voting will take place on April 11th, 2019 while the last phase will be held on May 19th, 2019. The results of the election will be announced on May 23rd, 2019.