2019 LS Poll Assam: Candidates For Phase II, Past Results, All Updates

The polling will be held in five Lok Sabha Seats of Karimganj, Silchar, Autonomous District, Mangaldoi and Nagaon
The polling will be held in five Lok Sabha Seats of Karimganj, Silchar, Autonomous District, Mangaldoi and Nagaon

Guwahati, April 16, 2019

A total of 50 candidates, including three women, 19 Independents and seven others are in the fray for the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Assam slated for April 18th, 2019. For Phase II, 14 contestants from Karimganj, 13 candidates from Silchar, five from Autonomous district, 11 from Mangaldoi and seven from Nawgong are in the fray.

The prominent contestants in the second  phase are Assam Assembly Deputy Speaker, Kripanath Mallah (BJP), Radheshyam Biswas (AIUDF) in Karimganj, Rajdeep Roy (BJP) and Sushmita Dev (Congress) in Silchar, former militant, Horen Sing Bey (BJP) and Biren Sing Ingti (Congress) in Autonomous district.

Royal Global University

The others are Dilip Saikia (BJP) and former Assam Pradesh Congress Committee president Bhubaneswar Kalita (Congress) in Mangaldoi, Rupak Sarmah (BJP) and Pradyut Bordoloi (Congress) in Nowgong seat.

Check out the breakdown of the constituencies: 


Assembly Constituencies: Ratabari (SC), Patharkandi, Karimganj North, Karimganj South, Badarpur, Hailakandi, Katlicherra, Algapur

Constituency number: 1

Key contenders: Karimganj will witness a cut-throat battle between BJP leader and Assam Assembly Deputy Speaker, Kripanath Mallah and Radheshyam Biswas from AIUDF.

Total electors: 1338005

Male electors: 686638

Female electors: 641349

Third Gender: 18

Reserved: Yes. For Scheduled Castes

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: AIUDF’s Radheshyam Biswas is the MP from Karimganj since 2014. In 2004 and 2009 elections, Lalit Mohan Suklabaidya of the Congress won the seat. In 1998 and 1999, Nepal Chandra Das held the seat while representing the Congress party.

Demographics: Karimganj, which is a part of the Barak valley is notably a Muslim-dominated constituency. In fact, 50 per cent of the electorates are Muslims.


Assembly Constituencies: Silchar, Sonai, Dholai (SC), Udharbond, Lakhipur, Barkhola, Katigorah

Constituency number: 2

Key contenders: Rajdeep Roy has been chosen by BJP and sitting Congress MP Sushmita Dev will once again battle to lay hold of her seat.

Total electors: 1191289

Male electors: 613931

Female electors: 577283

Third Gender: 75

Reserved: No

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: Former Union minister Santosh Mohan Dev represented the constituency between 1999 and 2009. In 2009 elections, Kabindra Purkayastha of the BJP won the seat. In the 2014 polls, Congress’ leader Sushmita Dev won the seat defeating Purkayastha.

Demographics: Muslims and Hindu Bengali voters play a dominating role in this constituency.


Assembly Constituencies: Haflong (ST), Bokajan (ST), Howraghat (ST), Diphu (ST), Baithalangso (ST)

Constituency number: 3

Key contenders: BJP candidate, Horen Sing Bey will contest against six-time Assam Congress MP Biren Sing Engti in Autonomous district

Total electors: 795085

Male electors: 404528

Female electors: 390551

Third Gender: 6

Reserved: Yes. For Scheduled Tribes

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: Jayanta Rongpi of the CPM-ML won the seat in 1999 elections. Since 2004, the seat is being held by Biren Singh Engti of the Congress party.

Demographics: The constituency comprises two tribal autonomous districts: Dima Hasao and Karbi Anglong which shelters several indigenous tribes in Assam like Karbi, Dimasa, Kuki, Biate etc.


Assembly Constituencies:  Kamalpur, Rangiya, Nalbari, Paneri, Kalaigaon, Sipajhar, Mangaldoi (SC), Dalgaon, Udalguri (ST), Majbat

Constituency number:  8

Key contenders: Dilip Saikia has been offered the ticket from BJP to contest and former Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Bhubaneswar Kalita, (Congress) in Mangaldoi

Total electors: 1795529

Male electors: 920977

Female electors: 874520

Third Gender:32

Reserved: No

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: Ramen Deka of BJP has been the sitting MP since 2009. Before him, Narayan Chandra Borkataky of the BJP represented the constituency. In 1999 elections, Madhab Rajbhangshi of the Congress won the seat.

Demographics: Bodo voters are found in sizeable numbers in this constituency. Mangaldoi also has over 4 lakh Muslim voters, half of whom have their roots in Assam.


Assembly Constituencies: Jagiroad (SC), Marigaon, Laharighat, Raha (SC), Nowgong, Barhampur, Jamunamukh, Hojai, Lumding

Constituency number: 10

Key contenders: Rupak Sarma will contest BJP and Former power minister, Pradyut Bordoloi has been chosen by Congress for the Nowgong seat.

Total electors: 1790684

Male electors: 918386

Female electors: 872249

Third Gender: 49

Reserved: No

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: Union Minister Rajen Gohain is the sitting MP from Nowgong since 1999.

Demography:   Nagaon, which is considered the hub of vegetable production in Assam, is a BJP stronghold. Inspite of 38 per cent Muslim electorates, the party has reportedly been able to retain the seat due to the division of Muslim votes in previous polls.

Matter of fact

Assam has witnessed high voltage electioneering with the visit of star campaigners, Congress’s Priyanka Gandhi in Silchar and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister, Yogi Adityanath, in Hojai along with other regional parties extensively campaigning in this region.

The five constituencies have a fairly large segment of voters belonging to the Muslim community. On the other hand, the voters of the Bengali and Bodo communities, are also present in significant numbers in most of the seats of Phase II.

In the second phase, the election is expected to be between the ruling BJP, Congress and AIUDF. The BJP had emerged victorious from Nagaon and Mangaldoi whereas Congress took over Silchar and Autonomous district parliamentary seat. Karimganj has sitting MP from AIUDF.