Pema Khandu To Contest From Mukto; Check Full List Of Candidates For Arunachal Pradesh Assembly Elections

Itanagar, March 17, 2019

Arunachal Chief Minister Pema Khandu will contest from Mukto constituency for the forthcoming Arunachal Pradesh 2019 Assembly elections.

The names were finalised at a BJP Central Election Committee meeting in New Delhi on March 16th, 2019. The meeting was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and all the other members.

Out of the 60 assembly seats, the BJP has given tickets to 54 candidates.

Khandu’s political career took a U-turn after he had won a by-election from Mukto unopposed in 2011. Following this, he was inducted into the then Jarbom Gamlin ministry. He was re-elected unopposed in the 2014 Arunachal election. In 2016, he assumed the office of Chief Minister following a year-long power struggle between former CM Nabam Tuki and Kalikho Pul.

It may be mentioned that election to the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh assembly and the two Lok Sabha seats in the state will be held on April 11th, 2019.  On the other hand, Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein will contest from Chowkham.

Check Out the complete list below: