Ram Madhav Takes Jibe At Mahagathbandhan, Says BJP-Led NE Alliance Will Win 22 Seats

Assam's 14 constituencies will see polling in three phases on April 11th, 18th and 23rd, 2019
Assam's 14 constituencies will see polling in three phases on April 11th, 18th and 23rd, 2019

Guwahati, March 13, 2019

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) general secretary and Northeast in-charge Ram Madhav said the BJP and its allies will win “not less than 22 out of 25 Lok Sabha seats in the Northeast in the forthcoming general elections.  He also said the BJP under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi will win the Lok Sabha polls with a better margin than in 2014.

Taking a jibe at the ‘Mahagathbandhan’, Madhav, in a Facebook post, wrote, “While the Opposition is still talking and talking about Mahagatbandhan, we already have ours in place in the North East and the rest of the country. The NDA is a much stronger coalition today than before.”

He added, “This alliance has the potential of winning not less than 22 out of 25 seats in the region and playing an important role in seeing Modiji as the PM once again.”

It may be mentioned that the BJP  will contest the upcoming 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Assam in alliance with Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF).

“Sustained negotiations at Dimapur and Guwahati with different senior leaders like Sh N Rio, CM, Nagaland; Sh Sarbananda Sonowal, CM, Assam; Sh Conrad Sangma, CM, Meghalaya, Sh Biren Singh, CM, Manipur; Sh Pema Khandu, CM, Arunachal Pradesh and Sh Himanta Biswa Sarma, Convenor, NEDA in the company of other leaders have finally sealed the alliance and electoral understanding between the BJP and all major parties in the North East,” Madhav wrote on Facebook.

The BJP leader further stated that “the BJP, NPP, NDPP, AGP and BPF will fight together in Assam, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh with the mission of defeating Congress party at the hustings”.

“In Tripura, the BJP will fight the elections together with IPFT, our alliance partner.  In Sikkim, our alliance will be with SKM, the main Opposition party,” he added.

Assam’s 14 constituencies will see polling in three phases on April 11th, 18th and 23rd, 2019. Manipur and Tripura, which have two seats, will vote in two phases on April 11th,  and 18th. Meghalaya (two seats), Nagaland (one), Arunachal Pradesh (two), Mizoram (one) and Sikkim (one) will go to the polls on April 11th, 2019.

A total of 21,760,604 voters will exercise their franchise in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Assam. 706,489 young voters – 40,47,15 males and 301,774 females – in the age group of 18 to 19 years in Assam will exercise their franchise for the first time in the Lok Sabha polls. Out of 21,760,604 voters, 111,327,82 are males and 106,278,22 are females.

756,284, 68,364,96 and 74,078,24 voters in Phase I, Phase II and III respectively will cast their votes in 28,143 polling stations. A total of 1913 polling stations have been marked as ‘critical’ and 3663 as ‘Highly sensitive’. The votes will be counted on May 23rd, 2019.