Six communities of Assam to get ST status


Guwahati, October 8: Prime Minister Narendra Modi assured on Saturday that the proposal from Assam government for inclusion of six communities into the Schedule Tribe (ST) list will be taken into consideration.

State government proposed to Central government to provide ST status to Koch-Rajbongshi, Tai-Ahom, Chutiya, Moran, Muttock and the Adivasi tea-tribes.

Union Minister Ramdas Athawale has said that once the Schedule Tribe Commission examines and recommends these communities, the Bill will be introduced in the Parliament and the ST status will be granted to these six communities.

Royal Global University

Athawale said that other than these communities, Kalita and Brahmins in Assam would also be provided reservations as many of them belong to economically backward families and are struggling for jobs. He also said that Supreme Court of India has provided a maximum limit of fifty percent for reservations.

Minister further applauded Assam government for increasing reservations for the disabled to five per cent in education and four percent in the job sector.