Tarun Gogoi, Rockybul Hussain Removed From Assam Olympic Association

Former Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi (L) and forest minister Rockybul Hussain (R). Photo: TIME8

Guwahati, July 11, 2019

The Indian Olympic Association (IOA) on July 11th, 2019 has removed the former Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi as president and Rockybul Hussain as secretary general of the Assam Olympic Association (ASA).

The IOA has formed an ad-hoc committee with Surinder Mohan Bali as chairperson for the ASA to take interim measures for overseeing governance and managment affairs and conduct the election of the Assam Olympic Association within six months. The state association bodies of the IOA enjoy a four year term. The AOA has failed to conduct election for the new body.

Royal Global University

“A letter dated 22/12/2018 received from Shri Rakibul Hussain, General Secretary, Assam Olympic Association saying that the Assam Olympic Association is intending to hold General Body meeting on 24.02.2019 in Guwahati, Assam for electing Office bearers. Further on 22.02.2019 another letter was sent to IOA by the Assam Olympic Association giving the activities of the AOA and also saying that they had already initiated process for holding the meeting on 24.02.2018 (presumed as it may be a typo-error, they may be referring 24.02.2019) at 11.00 am in Guwahati but they failed to give any valid explanation for not conducting the election in time,” the letter from IOA president Narinder Dhruv Batra to Gogoi and Hussain stated.